Anxiety and depression taking over my life

D

Deano98

Hi. For the last couple of years I've gotten so used to anxiety and depression that I've almost learnt to live with it as it is. I've missed out on so many opportunities because of it, I've had a relationship end because of it and it takes over my life and my decisions. I just wanna be honest with myself and you guys so hopefully I can get some advice.

Goal wise I started playing rugby when I was little and loved it. Played to a high level but stopped at 16 when I got into a long distance relationship. I got to clingy and insecure and I put weight on because food helped me cope and I stopped working out. Havent forgiven myself and I havent really started again. I'm not exactly out of shape but not fit enough to play rugby. I wanted to play for my university team because it's a good level but I'm not fit enough. Or I could play for a lower level local club but when I was 14/15, I always imagined myself playing at a higher level than that. I feel like I've wasted my goal and my dreams.

Personally, I'm traveling to uni as it's only 35 mins away. Was supposed to be living in halls but cancelled last minute as I didn't think it was worth £145 when I live quite close. I don't really have any friends, I don't like how I look and I judge myself way too harshly. I lose focus easily. I know I could change these things but it's all tied together. I find it hard to talk to people at times, particularly people I'm not close to.

I'm scared and disappointed. I'm not where I imagined or want to be in my life. My ideal life would be quite simple - play good level of rugby, in good shape, doing really well at uni. Not exactly massive dreams but I'm just not sure how I can get there given how I feel.

What should I do? How can improve in these different areas? Thank you

T

tomghanini2