• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

For more features and forums

Antipsychotics

Aahbut

Aahbut

I have been hearing voices for about three months and it looks like I am going to have to take an antipsychotic. Could someone explain how they work and what they do. What are the side effects etc. I'm a bit worried I am going to end up waking round in a haze, and I find it bad enough as it is being able to concentrate etc now.

D

Dollit

I take antipsychotics from time to time and I've found that if the dosage is built up carefully and in a considered fashion then I tend not to get fogged out. If I feel like a zombie I'm taking too much and I go down a step. I worked this out with the consultant and I find them really useful. Side effects can change from drug to drug so be sure to talk all that over first.

yakuza

yakuza

Founding Member
I take the antipsychotic 'chlorpromazine' which is in a class of drugs called phenothiazines,they work like all antipsychotics,by changing the actions of chemicals in the brain.
The information leaflet explains to use caution when driving,using machinery or performing hazardous activities as per normal with meds.
I think there is a misconception that antipsychotics take away one's 'free will' although I must admit that the sedatory affect can be overpowering at times but it really depends on what dosage you may take.
There are many potential side effects as with most meds and the severest I can report is insomnia and drowsiness,not a great combination.
Apparently taking anti-depressants can also increase the side effects of antipsychotics which is worth bearing in mind.