• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Another day on my sofa/motivation

E

Emmorolo

Hi everyone I'm a newbie here, but asking for any advice on motivation.I work part-time and have a family but when I'm not having to work all I want to do is lay on the sofa because I have zero energy/motivation for anything else .I move when I literally have to.cook dinner,go toliet,quick tidy up but that's it.infact it's now a family joke that I am always on the sofa.i can't be bothered with anything else and it's been like this for a good few years now.and just lately even I'm getting fed up with myself constantly on the sofa with no desire to do anything else.i am 53 and peri menopausal.
How do I change , I know it may sound weird but the thought of leaving my cosy sofa and blanket does cause me to feel bit anxious and panicky. I would love to be one of these people with boundless energy , who love cooking/gardening/cleaning but I'm not and the thought of doing anything like that stresses me out even more.
Any ideas/advice

Xx

vanish

vanish

Staff Member on Leave
I'd like to be one of those people with boundless energy too, @Emmorolo. I see my mates on social media doing things like marathons, kid's concerts, dinner parties and the like. I am sitting there scrolling through largely ashamed I am not like that.
Is it possible you actually have anxiety? We can't diagnose you on the forum (of course) but if you're really concerned about this lack of energy and anxiety/panicky feelings, I'd be having a chat with your GP. I'm not saying you have a condition at all, it could be caused by anything this lack of energy (even menopause, I know because I'm perimenopausal myself), so best point of call would be the GP.

E

Emmorolo