• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

Agoraphobia as Specific Phobia?!

O

ozio

Hi to everyone. I am a psychology student and also had some mental health issues myself. But I am not suffering from Agoraphobia. I just wanted to ask the following question because I got into a discussion with a professor at my University about the subject. I am aware of the criteria of Agoraphobia but I was wondering if there are people who do suffer from Agoraphobia as a specif phobia. So the object of fear would be the wide space, open places itself and not the expected Panic Attac / embarrassment without the possibility to flee. So to say the opposite of Claustrophobia. The fear of being exposed, helpless because of the open Space itself. Anyone who could relate to that? I am happy about your answers! Thanks in advance.

V

Vampire333

I have agoraphobia. I don’t know wether this relates but I went through a stage of being terrified of looking up to the sky. I’ve been housebound for years on and off and I went out by the door at night once, looked up to the sky, and the realisation that I was looking miles and miles into space absolutely terrified me! It was the worse feeling I’ve ever felt. It was like I realised reality all over again. That we are just on this rock in infinite space. I know we all know that already, but it was like a TRUE realisation of it. Basically a hard bad trip, but sober. Since then I’ve learnt to actually love that feeling. And I see the world in a very different way now. The beauty of where we find ourselves as humans etc. It took me a long time though to get over it.