• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Advise

N

Nicola09

hi everyone
I haven't actually 'officially' been diagnosed with Bipolar disorder yet. I rapid cycle, one day I will be manic and then the next day I will be feeling completely depressed and suicidal. Sometimes I can have a few different mood swings in one day. It's really awful, i just can't predict how i'm going to feel and its horrible.
I'm a student, and although many students are in debt and have maxed out overdrafts.. most can control their spending. When i'm manic i just cant. One day i woke up and decided I would go and buy a £900 apple laptop. So i did. When i came down I realised what a stupid thing that was, as i had no money left to pay bills or pay for food. At the time i fouond it perfectly fine to spend this amount of money. I didn't even think about it properly, just saw it advertised on the computer and decided i liked it so would buy it. I can't control the spending and it's rediculous. My overdraft is maxed out by £2000 and the bank wont let me increase it, which is probably a good thing. ITs a good job i only had a debit card and not a credit card too. THe problem is i have no money coming from anywhere, i have to rely on my loan. But if i become manic anywher around the time i get my loan it's gone, and i really can't control it. I need to get a job - but i just cant face one. I never know how i'm going to feel. If im in a depressed state of mind then i wont cope with working, if im manic i couldnt do it, god knows what i would end up doing :(
Has anyone got any advise? I'm going to see my GP as soon as the term starts again, which will be early January. I dont have any support, apart from a therapist. What should I do?