• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Advice

B

blarney

Hello,

I´ve lately been experiencing occasional violent thoughts that appear in my mind out of nowhere. For example I´ll imagine a friend of mine or someone I love very much being hurt or attacked. I don´t desire these thoughts... in fact, they horrify and disgust me. But I can´t seem to make them go away. The odd thing is, I feel very sane in all other respects. I am a postgraduate student in a committed relationship. I´m physically fit and have a lot of friends and a supportive family. I´m generally a funny, likeable person who is troubled by things like poverty and violence. In fact, I can barely got through "Slumdog Millionaire". So I don´t think I´m psychotic .. from what I´ve read, that would mean I have a lack of empathy with others.

So much in my life seems fine, which is why I can´t understand these thoughts. I think sometimes I may just ahve an overactive imagination ' and it´s not like I have these thoughts all the time. I´m usually able to control them by saying "STOP" to myself. But all they same, the thoughts are there.

I´d value any suggestions.

D

Dollit