• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Advice welcome!!

L

Littlelegsxo

Hi, I am brand new to this and I've never messaged in a forum before.. However I'm 26 and I have recently stopped my 100 sertraline dose ( I was on this for 2yrs). I phased this out until I was only taking one a month, and have since stopped that, so I'm roughly 5 weeks without taking any dose. I was just wondering, I am feeling heightened anxiety about my life, relationships with others etc and I just feel incredibly emotional! I never remember feeling like this before my medication, is this normal side effect of stopping my dose, or is this the new me?
Any advice would really be appreciated as I'm really struggling! 😊
--

bpd2020

bpd2020

Hello and welcome to the forum. If the sertaline was helping your anxiety then it makes sense it has returned due to stopping it.

L

Littlelegsxo

Hello and welcome to the forum. If the sertaline was helping your anxiety then it makes sense it has returned due to stopping it.
Hi, thanks for replying! I started medication due to physical symptoms of anxiety, nausea loss of appetite , rapid weight loss after my mom passed away. I never had these insecure unhappy feelings prior to taking the meds so unsure if it's a side effect of stopping them and sort of feeling things again or its something in going to have to deal with long term.

bpd2020

bpd2020

Oh I see. I am sorry but I do not know if this would be as a result of stopping the medication. I am sure somebody will post soon who knows more.

daffy

daffy

Founding Member