• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Advice for Paranoid Personality Disorder

V

Vulture

Hi this is my first time posting on a forum before and I am honestly just looking for some help, I have recently learned < experience > that my girlfriend of two years has Paranoid Personality disorder. I talked to .. one of 5 different sides of her, there all named. have traits and has a certain look. hair, style, clothing,. and I always thought they were bad dreams because she always has dreams of them or one in particular. she does change when the past comes up or a girl that she doesn't know is mentioned and even though she knows I wouldn't hurt or cheat on her she distances her-self as if we just broke up. it happens almost every week and it causes a lot of stress on me and her. its becoming more serve and I'm scared that she will do something she cant take back whether it be action or words. I would love if someone could give me some personal experience, advice, or how to give her more peace of mind or how to help treat the visits.

Purple Chaos

Purple Chaos

Hi Vulture and welcome to the forum.

Sorry to hear of your worries for your girlfriend. It must be difficult to cope with at times.

Just for clarification, she's been diagnosed with paranoid personality disorder but also exhibits five different personalities?

I've not experienced either of these (apart from paranoia during an episode) so can't give you personal advice. I would however recommend reading whatever you can about your girlfriend's illness. If you can understand it as much as possible, dealing with it should be easier. There's some good information here to get you started.

I hope it helps and that things improve for you both.

V

Vulture