Advice and help wanted - discrimination at work?

V

VintageGal

Hi, this is my first ever post to this forum in attempt to gain any advice or help that anyone can offer me on a situation that occurred to me only yesterday which has torn me up inside. It is a fairly long story but I would really appreciate any time and effort as I am confused and upset.

First of all, I have been diagnosed with anxiety and depressed and I am currently on medication for this. I find it hard to leave the house a lot of the time; I do have a part time job, I work as a cashier for a supermarket which will remain unnamed. I have had to step down from Customer Service Manager and then from Customer Service Supervisor because of my mental health to do my cashier role. I thought this would help me manage my stress easier. I am worrying constantly, about anything and everything, what shall i cook for tea, what shall I wear, will I get enough sleep tonight, will I have time to clean, etc etc. I worry particularly about my appearance and I hate being out in public, especially alone.

I have been doing my cashier role for almost 9 months now and I haven't found the amount of stress to be decreasing significantly for me. The department is extremely short staffed, and often I find myself being the only cashier rotad on shift, which I find extremely pressurising, as this shop is a very busy bargain store. I have informed my manager, supervisors and duty managers about my condition and they are all aware of it, after asking for proof through the form of my prescription that I was on medication.

I am aware that in the Equality Act, employers should make reasonable adjustments for those struggling at work with a mental disability. This is where I am asking for your advice - was I refused a reasonable adjustment, in your eyes?