• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Abuse related anxiety and returning to work

Parissa

Parissa

My psychiatrist this morning said that although i have dreadful memories from past abused, the best thing to do is to get back to work as soon as possible. It is a way of distracting. They have talked about PTSD, which i have some features of, and how the best way to deal with that is to get back to work as soon as possible.

I lay in bed this morning with my memories. They tied me to the bed for about an hour. I cringed at other thoughts, a physcial cringe. Regarding abused, i'm also talking about time spent depressed and all the pain associated with that. I've had some dreadful experiences in hospital that left me wracked with anxiety. The psychiatrist knows all of this. Validates all of this. Says to get back to work and try to move on. That is the best cure. Distraction not dwelling. This seems to me like climbing Mount Everest.

What do you think? Have you done the same? Did it help?

:cry:

Love Parissa

Parissa

Parissa

In a pickle and scared. I want to hide in bed. I don't go out often. Sometimes I feel so worried and anxious I still feel depressed. The hospital I worked in has a half time vacancy for me in the New Year if I want it. If ready. I know I have to find the courage. I have to find the courage. It seems a monumental task right now.

SomersetScorpio

SomersetScorpio

I think it's really difficult to find a balance..
Sometimes people genuinely can't face work and trying to have a job causes more problems than it solves.
Others do find it a distraction and gives them a sense of self-worth.
How have you felt about working in the past?
I suppose the worst than can happen is that you won't cope and you'll have to go back to not working, and in that sense you have nothing to lose by trying.