• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

A Theory for the root Cause of BPD

S

SJS

I preface this by saying i'm not a professional, and i do this just as a passion and a hobby..

I don't suffer from BPD myself, but i've been thinking of the potential causes. What makes someone borderline compared to another person, and you'll have to let me know if this resonates with any of you who do suffer from it.. However, i have to explain a couple of relevant things first for this to fully make sense.

When believing something it involves investing agreement into an idea. A belief when broken down into it's parts is simply an idea + agreement. An idea you've agreed is true. However, what i have discovered is there are degrees to which people invest agreement into ideas.

Some people will invest a LOT of agreement, and this makes a belief feel very solid and secure. Some people however, take everything with a pinch of salt. They don't go all in on a belief, and reserve some doubt.

So my theory is this :

The black and white thinking, which is a key symptom of borderline personality, could be due to investing too much agreement into an idea.

So say you put all your trust in someone very easily, this belief feels extremely secure, you're feeling very happy.. Suddenly you find out this person has betrayed you in some huge way. What happens? What once felt so secure now emotionally swings completely to the opposite side. Like having the rug pulled out from under you.

Could BPD be a result of simply not having enough doubt when committing to a belief? If so, taking everything with a pinch of salt might negate the symptoms of borderline personality disorder completely.