20 y/o in college and social anxiety is tearing my life apart

C

chris__

Yeah so my life is in scrambles right now please someone help me out or at least tell me they relate to what I'm going through. I guess to try to give some background to understand my situation: I've been dealing with social anxiety for years. It used to be so bad in high school that I pretty much lived in isolation. But once I graduated with a fresh start I was able to move past it sort of and formed a solid social circle for the first time in my life. However, pretty much all my friends were introduced to me through my roommate at the time who was extremely outgoing. 80% of my socializing was from getting plastered at parties as well SO I guess technically I didn't really do anything to fix my problem. Instead, I had friends handed to me and learned how to drown myself in alcohol. My friend group at the time was filled with toxic drama and really it was pretty forced and people didn't get along. It wasn't a healthy circle for me to be in and it was giving me more problems that I just didn't need on top of other things I already struggled with. I didn't know how to step out and make connections and was scared to so I just kind of accepted it. This ate away at me as I was thrown in the middle of all these fights and stupid situations I did not want to be a part of when all I wanted to do was make memories and enjoy life. This along with not being passionate about what I was working towards caused me to not do well academically so I got dismissed at the end of the year. This ruined me and put me in depression over the summer blah blah blah fast forward to later that decide to move down to Florida in the fall to enroll in a 2-year college for music production. My thought process basically was "fresh start again, put everything in the past, live your dreams." Basically I got down here in October and my roommate (who I'm stuck on with on this lease for 4 more months) turns out to be the strangest