19 Male anxiety help please

M

mik3y

Hi This is my first post, my name is Michael and I work as a HTML programmer.

I have a problem that has been bothering me for a little over 2 years the problem is social anxiety (I get very uptight in social situations I can't think and sometimes I panic) I think this due to high school I got bullied but I just took it on the chin an didn't speak to anyone about it (I didn't let this effect my grades)

So now when I'm around people I feel the victim I don't trust people much anymore.

Also the people in the area that I live in are very common they talk about stuff like soaps, films, sport, I can't connect on any of these subjects (don't mistake me I'm not a snob I just never have liked these things)

I have one friend in the area I live in we we get on well and he understands why I don't talk around his other friends.

I just feel like a big ass! I hate myself for this all I want is to be able to walk in a room and talk to people and not sit there all quite because this is not who I truly am!

Thanks for reading any advice welcome.

Mike

Last edited:
D

Dollit

If you think that you have nothing in common with the people in the area in which you live why not join a group of some sort where the subject matter does interest you. My mum and sister both watch soaps and my dad loved sports - I played sports for years and we're considered posh!!

Confidence isn't something that comes naturally to a lot of people - have you thought of taking some assertiveness training?

M

mik3y

Assertiveness sounds right for me.
I've always been a insecure person, I formerly dealt with this through humor.
I guess programming has made me lose my humor.
Guess I'll take a break from programming and take a course in being a clown :p

Thanks for the suggestion.

M

mik3y

I was very sarcastic, then something bad happened which knocked my self esteem then I was scared of being sarcastic.

Why am I scared?