Thread: Lonely

Default Lonely

So I've been self-injuring since I was 6 (19 years), and I'm about two or three weeks clean. But I feel like I'm on the verge of another relapse. Part of it is that I'm battling ptsd and depression, and part of it is that I just got into a new relationship and when they're with me, I feel so good that when they're gone, I get lonely and depressed. I told them I'd try to stop self-injuring, but right now I just miss my... tool that I self-injure with so much. I always self-injured when I was lonely or depressed, and right now, I'm both. I don't know if I just miss my partner, or if it's more than that. Because I feel like if it were just that, then calling or texting them would solve the problem, but (spoilers) it didn't. I don't know if this is the start of a depressive episode, or if I genuinely need a lifestyle change so that I don't feel lonely and depressed and useless when I go home and am all alone. I guess my question (after all the rambling) is how do I deal with the fact that the desire to self-injure is always coming back?

My Mood
      Angelic

Self harm can be very addictive and once you are on the roller coaster it can be hard to stop. YOu have managed for a while now which is brilliant. I think we have tramways in the brain and the ruts are deep in behaviour we are used to. Breaking out of those ruts means challenging yourself and forming new ruts which are healthier. Its difficult, and I talk as one who used to self harm myself.

I don't believe in distraction methods that mimic the self harm as it reinforces it - things suggested like a rubber band on the wrist or drawing on your body in red ink etc. I think it requires a whole new approach. There is a book I recommend called "Emotional Hijacking" by Marlene Schneider Potter. Its written very simply and gets across all kinds of techniques to deal with the emotional behaviour we all experience on here. Its worth a thought.