Register To Comment
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Losing my job, depression and suicidal

Unhappy Losing my job, depression and suicidal

Hi everyone. I'm new here, and just spotted this great forum. I am posting here because I feel very scared and stressed about things. I could go on all night about my life story and mental illness, but I am just going to try and keep it to the point.

Few facts about me:
      • I'm female, aged 22, and live in England
      • I'm a psychology postgraduate student
      • I have been on antidepressants (citalopram) for 9 months
      • Saw a psychologist for cognitive behaviour therapy for 6 sessions
      • Having counselling once a week at present

At age 16, I attempted suicide, but survived. I then made a promise to myself, a goal which I am attempting to achieve, to become a professional psychologist and help others with mental health problems. Ever since I have dedicated myself to this goal.

I have been suffering from depression and obsessional behaviour for about 10 years, however only did something about it last year (in 2008), after completely losing the ability to cope with work and personal stress, not being able to make my own decisions and constantly crying, sadness, alcohol addiction, which was beginning to make me lose my job. I did lose my job last year, as I drank alcohol at work, was put on sick leave, came back and drank again, then was told I would be going on disciplinary actions, but resigned beforehand. I saw a counsellor for my alcohol addiction and receovered.