• Register To Comment

Thread: Key Worker Qualities.

Default Key Worker Qualities.

Hi everyone, first time post here. I work as a social care worker and have just been given my first key client. I'd like to ask anyone with key workers what qualities do you look for - what makes a good key worker? Thanks.

My Mood
      Scared

Hi there, key worker along same lines as care co-ord? I know for me, anyone who works with me, including my care co-ord, I need them to listen and really hear me. To understand what I struggle with, and not undermine it in anyway. To build a relationship with me so I feel safe to go to them with anything, and know I won't be judged. To encourage me with short and long term plans. To know when to push, and when not to (I have BPD). To help me find words when I sometimes can't (or often!). To help support me when meeting other professionals. To guide me when I need it.

Sounds like a tall order, doesn't it, and that's not nearly everything lol. I really admire anyone who works in this field. Well done, and good luck!

ali
      My Mood
      Chatty

well said sunflower...

my key worker does all of the above plus little things like making sure i am on time with my bilsl and how to plan my weeks to make sure i am doing something or not to much depending on moods....

she also helps me with all my benefit forms. and helps me with any issues or relationship problems

she is basically my personal organisor.

actually she does do alot lol

good luck with everything,

dont judge, be friendly, proffesional and patient.

none of us asked to be like this so dont promise and not deliver, laugh or question our outlook on life ( which at times will be amusing but not to us at the time lol )

again good luck
      Don't be afraid to give your best to what seemingly are small jobs. Ever time you conquer one it makes you that much stronger. If you do the little jobs well, the big ones tend to take care of themselves.
      --Dale Carnegie